Following the local and international success of his third studio and SAMA (South African Music Awards) nominated album, ZENO (2019),  MUZI announces his highly anticipated EP, MAMA, to be released on all major streaming platforms on Friday, 2 October 2020. The 6-track extended play will be a !K7 / WE.THE.BUNDU release. Produced during lockdown in South Africa, the project is a sonic homage to the artist’s late mother, MaKhoza, who heavily influenced MUZI’s early music development.  

MAMA’s cover art is a stunning collaborative effort between photographer, Riccardo Annandale, graphic designers, Luke Crawford, Menzi Ndlovu and MUZI himself and is created to highlight the warm and close-knit relationship that MUZI shared with his mother.  

MUZI fans can journey through the artist’s signature production style – delicately and intelligently blending modern electronic sounds and iconic South African Kwaito, Bubblegum Pop and Mbaqanga beats to create his own take on modern African music, for which he has come to be admired the world over. 

The MAMA EP drops in the last quarter of what has been an eventful 2020 for MUZI, having produced the official remix to Coldplay’Orphans single from their Everyday Life album, collaborated with Coldplay’s Chris Martin on Sondela Forever, received a nomination for Best Alternative Album for ZENO (2019) at this year’s South African Music Awards and secured an A-List, heavy rotation for his singles, Good Vibes Only and Phuma (Bad Self) on Radio Nova in Paris, France.

The artist continues to demonstrate an unwavering dedication to his creative output with the development of his music video production entity with close friend and frequent collaborator, Espacio Dios – titled Clout Killed The Kids. Amongst other videos the duo have produced is the official music video for the EP track, Makhoza which will be released at the same time as the EP. 

MUZI looks forward to bringing to life his multi-artist Channel Blak tour post-COVID-19 after announcing the now oversubscribed inaugural three-stop national tour in January, 2020.  

MAMA Track List

1.     Don’t Let Me Go

2.     I Miss You Ft. Tiro

3.     Believe

4.     Mama Dance

5.     The Calling

6.     MaKhoza